Nominations Sought: Hugh Atkinson Award for outstanding academic librarian

Nominations for the 2009 Hugh C. Atkinson Memorial Award are due December 5.

The award recognizes outstanding achievements (including risk-taking) by academic librarians who have contributed significantly to improvements in the areas of library automation, library management, and/or library development and research.

This award is funded by an endowment created by divisional, individual, and vendor contributions in memory of Hugh C. Atkinson, one of the major innovators in modern librarianship. It is jointly sponsored by the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL), the Association for Library Collections and Technical Services (ALCTS), the Library Administration and Management Association (LAMA), and the Library and Information Technology Association (LITA).

Your help is needed to identify individuals deserving of this prestigious award. The Hugh C. Atkinson Memorial Award Committee is now accepting nominations, with a deadline of December 5.

For more information about the award, including submission procedures and a list of previous recipients, visit Please direct questions to the Chair of the Atkinson Award Committee, Sarah C. Michalak, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (919-962-1301 or or to ALA’s Megan Griffin (

Explore posts in the same categories: Awards, LLAMA Updates, News


You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *